Our Programs Keep Philadelphia Healthy

The Philadelphia Immunization Program runs numerous programs which protect Philadelphia from vaccine preventable diseases. Whether it’s our Vaccine for Children (VFC) program, that gives free vaccines to under insured children, or our Temp Check program, which monitors vaccine storage and handling across the city, our programs are on the front lines of maintaining public health.

Specific programmatic forms or documents can be found on our Forms & Resources page, or by using our site’s search bar. Programmatic resources can also be found on their associated program’s page:

Immunization Hotline

If you need help navigating our programs, or if you have a programmatic inquiry, reach out to us! 

TempCheck Contact TempCheck for questions about Digital Data Loggers (DDLs), out-of-range temperatures, and vaccine emergencies. Call 215-685-6777 or email tempcheck@phila.gov.

DPH Provider Contact DPH Provider Help with questions about training and inventory reconciliation. Call 215-685-6872 or 215-685-6490, or email dphproviderhelp@phila.gov.

Vaccine Specialists Contact our vaccine specialists with questions about vaccine orders. Call 215-685-6728 or 215-685-6667.

PhilaVax Hotline Call our the hotline, or email us with questions about using or transmitting data to the PhilaVax IIS. Call 215-685-6784 or email philavax@phila.gov.

Miscellaneous Inquiries Don’t know who you need to reach? Email us at vaccines@phila.gov and we’ll help you out.

Need to Fax Us?

  • PhilaVax 215-238-6944
  • Vaccines For Children (VFC) 215-238-6948
  • VFC and VFAAR Orders and Temp Logs 215-238-6939
  • Vaccines For Adults At Risk (VFAAR) 215-238-6948
  • Community Flu Campaign (CFC) 215-238-6948
  • Perinatal Hepatitis B Program 215-685-6806
  • Report a Disease 215-545-8362
  • Vaccine Adverse Events Reporting System (VAERS) 877-721-0366

Meet Our Staff!

Management

Amber Tirmal, MPH
Program manager
215-685-6650
amber.tirmal@phila.gov

James Lutz, MPA
CDC Lead Public Health Advisor
215-685-6603
james.lutz@phila.gov

Kristen Feemster, MD, MPH, MSHPR, FAAP
Medical Director
215-685-6833
kristen.feemster@phila.gov

Veronica Alvarez, MPA
CDC Public Health Advisor
215-685-6498
veronica.alvarez@phila.gov

PhilaVax IIS

Aras Islam, JD, MPH
IIS Manager
215-685-6468
aras.islam@phila.gov

Jenna Jaxheimer, MPH
Deputy IIS Manager
215-685-6668
jenna.jaxheimer@phila.gov

John Robison
Interoperability Coordinator
215-685-6745
john.robison@phila.gov

Jenny Rascento
Data Reporting Analyst
215-685-6808
jenny.rascento@phila.gov

Raf Echavarria
IIS Programmer
215-685-6854
rafael.echavarria@phila.gov

Brian Jorgage
Interface Programmer
215-685-6455
brain.jorgage@phila.gov 

Erica Groomes
Assistant IIS Interoperability Coordinator
215-686-0200
erica.groomes@phila.gov

Vaccines For Children (VFC)

Jillian Brown, MPH
VFC/VFAAR Coordinator
215-685-6424
jillian.brown@phila.gov

Lorraine Matijkiw, RN, MA, BSN
Provider Quality Assurance Nurse
215-685-6466
lorraine.matijkiw@phila.gov

Lyn Jordan
Program Assistant
215-685-6837
lyn.jordan@phila.gov

Ann Gordon, RN, MSN, BSN
Provider Quality Assurance Nurse
215-685-6835
ann.gordon@phila.gov

Adam Howsare
ProData Logger Specialist
215-685-6777
adam.howsare@phila.gov

Joani Schmeling, MPH
Immunization Education Coordinator
215-685-6490
joani.schmeling@phila.gov

Charma Miller
Program Analyst
215-685-6667
charma.miller@phila.gov

Christine Wilson
Vaccine Specialist
215-685-6728
christine.wilson@phila.gov

Mohan Nagaraja, MPD
Immunization Education Coordinator
215-685-6872
mohan.nagaraja@phila.gov

Aleah McKenzie
Hepatitis A Program Assistant
aleah.mckenzie@phila.gov

Vaccines For Adults At Risk (VFAAR)

Nichole Dantzler
Adult Program Manager
215-685-6837
nichole.dantzler@phila.gov

Community Outreach

Tanya Jones
Community-Based Outreach Coordinator
215-685-6652
tanya.jones@phila.gov

Nichole J Taylor
User Specialist
215-685-6830
nichole.j.taylor@phila.gov

Perinatal Hepatitis B Program

Bruce Barlow, RN, BSL
Perinatal Hep B Coordinator
215-685-6853
bruce.barlow@phila.gov

Margarita Falu
Assistant Perinatal Hep B Coordinator
215-685-6842
margarita.falu@phila.gov

Communications

Sean Sass
Communications Coordinator
215-685-6651
sean.sass@phila.gov